Thursday, January 30, 2014

Six to Celebrate: An initiative to preserve New York's architectural diversity

Now on its third year, Six to Celebrate continues its commitment to save New York’s most treasured neighborhoods with the newest additions to its annual listing of preservation priorities. The chosen areas for 2014 are:

• The Atlantic Avenue, Brooklyn
Image Source:
• Forest Close, Queens
• Historic Cemeteries, Staten Island
• Madison Square North, Manhattan
Image Source:

• Park Avenue, Manhattan
• New York City’s Public Libraries
Image Source:

The Historic Districts Council (HDC), the proponent of the initiative, annually chooses the six neighborhoods based on the architectural and historic merit of the area, threat to the neighborhood, cooperation from local advocates, and where HDC’s citywide preservation program could be the most meaningful. HDC will work with the chosen communities to ensure the designation of their historic neighborhoods and to help them achieve their preservation goals through strategic planning, outreach programs, public awareness campaigns, and valuable tools, such as documentation, research, zoning, and land marking.

Simeon Bankoff, HDC’s executive director, said that the organization hopes to “focus New Yorkers’ attention on the very real threats that historic communities throughout the city are facing from indiscriminate and inappropriate development.” He keeps the momentum high, saying that the initiative will utilize all possible resources and alliances to help advance awareness of local efforts to save neighborhoods on a citywide level.

Read this Peter Forchetti blog for more interesting news and information on construction and land development.


  1. Great place, we should conserve it for the future generations :)

  2. better take a look of that architectural diversities...